Did you know that eight percent of children and two percent of all Americans have at least one food allergy?Food Allergy Aid is dedicated to providing a meaningful resource to these people and their loved ones to keep these potentially life-threating allergies managable.

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

We Want To Hear From You!

Please submit any stories about you or your child's food allergies. We would love to hear stories, advice, or anything related to food allergies! It always helps other to know that someone else has "been there, done that!"
Please submit any information to sherry.w.langston@foodallergyaid.com

Sunday, October 05, 2008

Rice Chex - NOW Gluten Free!

My son loves Rice Chex and has been eating them since he was 7 months old. I found it interesting the other day when I bought a new box. It has on the side panel that it is "Now Gluten-Free". When I checked he ingredients, I realized that they have removed the "Barley Malt Extract" ingredient which is the ingredient that would include gluten. It now includes molasses instead!

Gluten is not tolerated by many people - especially those individuals with Celiac Disease. Gluten may be found in barley, wheat, oats, etc.

Check out this article from General Mills and check out new Gluten-Free Rice Chex in stores now!

Wednesday, October 01, 2008

Check Out Divvies for Halloween!

Check out Divvies for some yummy allergy-free Halloween treats! You're sure to find something for everyone - even those without food allergies! I have tried their products before and they are fantastic!!


Our son has eaten the same chicken breast at a restuarat that we trust for about 4 years now. He has severe allergies still to wheat, milk, egg, and peanut - he used to also have corn and soy. Well, my husband and I always ordered him a "plain" chicken breast almost every time we visited. About two weeks ago, the manager told me that he noticed that the chicken breast was not on their "gluten free" list. Interesting! Well, apparently the chicken breasts are pre-marinted with a LONG list of ingredients including a "contains: wheat and soy" disclaimer. We were shocked! He usually broke out in some red spots on his face after he ate there but we just assumed it was nothing - he has very sensitive skin and breaks out in splotches for no reason sometimes! Although, I did have to give him benadryl after one visit.

The lesson learned: always ask about whether or not meat is marinated - never assume that it is just meat. Marinades may contain ANY of the top allergens including wheat, soy, peanut, sesame, etc. Always be safe and ask!